Coffee Cup Art


There is a person who makes art out of coffee cup stains
and instead of using a paintbrush or a pencil she uses a basketball.

This is really cool.

  1. #1 by melancholiastudioinc on March 17, 2012 - 10:56 pm

    :( Took me years to learn to draw with a PENCIL.

    • #2 by Kim on March 18, 2012 - 11:07 am

      It will take some lifetime for me to draw with a pencil :D
      You’re pretty good :)

      • #3 by melancholiastudioinc on March 18, 2012 - 5:01 pm

        I used to be really awful at drawing, only recently I’ve gotten better. It’s really an intellectual exercise. It has to do with being able to “see” spatially, how 3D translates to flat and vice versa. I’ve watched a ton of YouTube drawing videos.Everything they told us NOT to do in art school. Or they told us and I don’t remember….

      • #4 by Kim on March 18, 2012 - 9:03 pm

        Wow, so it’s a lot of practice actually!? :O

      • #5 by melancholiastudioinc on March 19, 2012 - 11:05 am

        Check out YouTube drawing videos.

      • #6 by Kim on April 3, 2012 - 9:51 pm

        I’m sure that it won’t be able to help me ^^’

  2. #7 by II 4S Aopmrdd on March 27, 2012 - 9:14 am

    yeah wonderful, i like Jay Chou’s songs

  3. #8 by melancholiastudioinc on April 1, 2012 - 5:47 am

    The drawing, I don’t know. Some people seem to be born knowing where all the lines go, where the shadows go, what colors to mix and which colors look really good next to each other. I’m always impatient. I do a lot of trial and error until something looks “right.” I’m getting away from trial error because it takes too long and often doesn’t work out. I was watching a video today about using markers. The guy was talking using color to indicate perspective, “cool greys send it back, warm greys bring things forward.” Or maybe it was the other way around. A cool grey is black plus white plus a “cool” color, purple for example. A warm grey would be black plus white plus red. But there are endless variations of purples and reds and some people never use black, prefer to mix red and green for the black. I know all this, but when I paint, I mostly mix dark brown into everything and curse a lot.

    • #9 by Kim on April 3, 2012 - 10:01 pm

      I know! Why are some people so gifted? I would only use one colour for everything, which is simply wrong ^^
      But you’re doing a great job!! Just keep drawing :)

  4. #10 by melancholiastudioinc on April 4, 2012 - 12:41 am

    Than you. I’m very pleased with myself, I have to say. I was not one of the gifted ones. I had a little bit of of good talent. You can use one color for everything. I knew a woman who used only shades of brown, very delicate,sort of sepia toned. I never saw her use another color, she did most beautiful work. She might have been working in oil, maybe acrylic. In oil, she would use more or less turpentine for lighter and darker shades and acrylic more or less water.

    Do you do any drawing? Show us! I love “bad” drawings. I once did this really stupid little ink drawing, I think the teacher told us to do some doodling or something, I don’t remember what exactly I did, but when everyone looked at my work, they started howling with laughter. They weren’t laughing at me, I had done something that struck them all as incredibly funny. No matter what level of expertise, you bring yourself to the drawing.

    You have really good taste in art, the things you post are always worth looking at. So, you do have an eye. Now do us a drawing!

  5. #11 by The Hook on April 5, 2012 - 5:01 pm

    I wish I drank coffee…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 183 other followers

